Texas Tech University System Homepage

About the TTU System

Preston Smith Statue


TTU System At a Glance

A System That Makes it Possible

The Texas Tech University System was formed in 1996 and formally established by the State of Texas three years later in 1999. Since its inception, the TTU System has emerged as one of the top public university systems in the nation and is a dynamic force in higher education. Today, the TTU System consists of four component institutions and operates at multiple campuses and academic sites across the state and globe.

Focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach, the TTU System is headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, and provides its universities with the resources needed to meet the global challenges of today and the future.

Whether it’s contributing billions of dollars annually in economic impact or being the only system in Texas to house an academic institution, law school, and medical school at the same location, the TTU System continues to prove that anything is possible.

How the TTU System Works

The Texas Tech University System is governed, controlled, and directed by a ten-member Board of Regents, who are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the legislature. The Board of Regents is guided by the Regents’ Rules and Regulations and upholds the operating policies of each member institution.

Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell serves as the chief executive officer of the TTU System, a position that is appointed by the Board of Regents. Mitchell leads TTU System policy and has direct oversight of all operations at the four universities. An Executive Leadership team guides the TTU System in areas including academic affairs, fundraising, and governmental relations, among many more.

Each of the four institutions has a president who is appointed by the chancellor, is the chief executive officer of that university, and is responsible for its strategic operation.

The Role of the TTU System

The TTU System Offices provide leadership and support services for its component institutions in the attainment of each university’s individual mission. From raising funds and managing endowments to carrying out Board of Regents’ rules and policies and overseeing strategic planning, the TTU System makes it possible for its universities.

Mission of the TTU System

The mission of the Texas Tech University System is to provide leadership and support services for Texas Tech University, the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at El Paso, and Angelo State University in the attainment of each component's individual mission.